Review of Ender’s Game (2013)

Posted on Updated on

Now, I literally just got back from seeing this movie so my thoughts are a little scattered still. My apologies.

That being said, I loved this movie. As per usual, things had to be changed from the book in order to adequately adapt into a well-working film, and Gavin Hood did his job well. It was a very well acted representation of the book and if you’ve never seen Asa Butterfield in action, now is the time to do so. He is the perfect representation of a young boy who becomes a commander in a war fought far from home.

It is visually stunning and thought provoking and it’s emotional counter parts will have you rushing back to the theater a second and possibly, a third time.

Rating: 10/12

2 thoughts on “Review of Ender’s Game (2013)

    Nancy said:
    November 10, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    I did love the movie. However, I’m not sure I would have had I not read the book first. I do not feel the movie adequately portrayed how young, isolated or pressured Ender was. Time being a factor, I know that had to cut much of his battle school life, but then why add a scene of Bonzo in surgery?

      kmhands91 responded:
      November 10, 2013 at 6:59 pm

      I agree. I’m not sure I would have been that interested in it without having read the book first. I do wish there was a way to be able to show all the struggles that Ender went through growing up at Battle School. It really made me sympathize with how insane his life was and just how young he really was when he became a commander. I don’t really think I’ll ever get over the fact that these are kids who are running the war. It’s a really weird thing to think about.

Leave a Reply

