Review of The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones (2013)

Posted on Updated on

Being as the film is based off of one of my favorite books series, I had very high hopes for it. That being said, I thought that filCity of Bonesm fell short slightly. But that in no means implies that I didn’t like it. In fact, I thoroughly enjoyed the film. I felt that it was cast very well and the actors brought to life my beloved characters in a new and unexpected way. Hands down, Jamie Campbell Bower is Jace Wayland and then some.

There were just a few things about the film that could have been better. A few crucial scenes were changed in order to make the movie work and I felt that those scenes were played out fine. Besides the changes there was just something about it that left me wanting more and it wasn’t the fact that the movie was left with a cliff hanger. I just felt that it had so much potential, had so much that it could have elaborated on and expanded on to truly make it great.

I still have hopes that the 2nd film will be made and when and if it does hit theaters, I will be right there watching and enjoying every minute of it. But even if  it isn’t made, I will still be a huge fan of this series and encourage plenty of people to see the film, whether they’ve read the books or not. (Although you really should read the series).

Verdict: 8/12

Leave a Reply

