Ernest Hemingway- The Old Man and The Sea (1952)

Posted on Updated on

This story is my first experience with Hemingway and I picked it to be my first because, not only, was it the shortest but it was also a story that I didn’t think I would relate to that much and I wanted to prove that no matter what a story is about, it can still be relatable. However, it is a story about fishing. I am no fisherman, I have no desire to be a fisherman in the future and altThe Old Man and the Seahough I love seafood, I have no desire to kill and gut my own food.

That being said, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I did relate to this story. Hemingway not only depicts a great adventure of a seasoned fisherman, but he also depicts a story about the strength of perseverance and that there are some things in life that you are better off letting go of.

The Old Man, who finds fishing to be a calming and peaceful exercise, finds himself in the midst of the battle against a great fish and by his simple desire to bring this fish in, he finds himself pulled out to sea. Then begins the show of the powerful strength that comes from the simple desire to survive. Both man and fish go through great hardships to keep going and to keep persevering despite the odds being stacked against them.  The great fish is hooked, while the old man suffers bodily injuries.

I love a good story about the fire the fuels the overwhelming desire to live. It shows just how precious life is and that you cannot take your life or anyone else’s for granted. I thoroughly enjoyed this story.

Verdict: 10/12

Have you ever been in a situation where all your instincts took over and contributed to your survival?

Why do some people value life while others do not?

What types of situation warrant letting go or holding tight?

Leave a Reply

