Review of The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

Posted on Updated on

When I first heard that this movie was coming out, I was really excited. I, honestly, didn’t fully know what the story was about but plenty of other people did, and the thing that most people said was: “Why is The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe the first story they’re making into a movie? It’s not the first one in C.S. Lewis’ collection”.TheChroniclesofNarnia

This statement is very true. This tale is not the first in Lewis’ collection. It is the second. It is, however, the first tale he wrote about Narnia. The novel was published in 1950 but when the collection came out, there was a specific order that Lewis wanted his stories to be told in. The tales of the Pevensie siblings do not even follow each other back to back. There are other stories in between the sequels, Prince Caspian and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. Lewis had a specific idea about which story should come before others and that’s the order that his collection goes in. I did not do as Lewis wished and skipped to the second story, but I will, without a doubt, be reading the others in the very near future.

Now that that’s all settled, I absolutely adore this film. From the first time I saw it when I was 14, until this very morning when I was, and am still, 22 years old, this movie will never cease to amaze me. The cast of the Pevensie siblings is just perfect and I would love to see more of these young actors (I suppose not so young anymore) on screen. The digital affects are beautiful and has thus caused me to have a desperate desire to find a way to enter Narnia myself. The film sticks very close to the novel and that’s what makes it so wonderful. Lewis’ magical land is in no way demeaned. I simply love it.

Verdict: 11/12

Leave a Reply

