2011- “The Artist”

Posted on Updated on

Director: Michel Hazanavicius

Release Date: January 20, 2012

Starring: Jean Dujardin, Bérénice Bejo

As a child born of the 90’s, I’m not usually prone to watching a black and white film without a little push. However, The Artist, needs no pushing. I watched this film about a year after it came out and I immediately felt as though I had wasted all those months by not experiencing this beauty sooner.

For those of you who do not know what The Artist is about, it follows the story of a silent film star who meets a yThe-Artist-posteroung dancer, but soon “talking” pictures take their careers in opposite directions.

First off, this film took me by surprise. I didn’t know what I was expecting going in. All I knew was that I was going to be watching a silent film featuring the actor who won “Best Picture” for this role. That being said, there were a lot of expectations that I wanted this film to live up to. I figured it would be good but I didn’t think I would enjoy it as much as I did. The story was done beautifully and the plot twists were unexpected. Again, being a child of the 90’s I didn’t know much about the transition from silent film to talking pictures. I had honestly never really thought about the process or just how big of an impact this new take on film had. Seeing this on screen is what really struck me as interesting. It’s not just a silent film about the silent film era. It’s about change. It’s about what happens what the world continues to transform and move forward. There will always be those who are afraid of change, those who try and stop it. But change is inevitable and sometimes you just have to let it happen.

Another highlight of the film is, of course, the adorable dog that plays Dujardin’s best friend. I am always impressed by animals in movies. They have so much skill and are just too precious to pass up.

Verdict: 12/12

Leave a Reply

